You Say Portabella, I Say Portobello…

by kathyjeanwelsh

You say po-tah-to, I say po-tay-toh… you say to-mah-to, I say, to-may-to… Let’s call the whole thing… FOOD!

However you choose to pronounce the name of the giant mushroom, one thing cannnnnot be denied – it’s delicious!  And nutritious!  And, as I discovered in this TED video, they might save the world!  Hmmm… what would a mushroom superhero be named?  The Mushinator?  Super Shroom?  Spore?  I also discovered – through the TED genius – that funghi is pronounced fun-jie, not fun-guy.  Like Sanjaya, but different…

Funjaya?  The next American Superidol?  We may be on to something, people!  In the meantime, back to the fungus-among-us…

I was researching portobellos with the ultimate goal of finding a fun new recipe.  And when I saw some substituting portobellos for pizza “crust”, instead of dough, I just had to try it out.  And… OH WOW!  We were singing with joy!

There’s really no recipe, it’s just prepping the mushrooms properly and then going for it!  Fun(ghi), right?!  Right.

Portobello Mushroom Pizzas

Ingredients

6 Portobello mushrooms

6 oz. can pizza sauce, or seasoned tomato sauce

2 heaping Tbsp. fresh basil, cut into thin strips

2 cloves fresh garlic, thinly sliced

1/2 c. shredded cheese – I did three with cow’s milk mozzarella, and three with this new (to me) vegan cheese… which is amazing!  Very mellow flavor, melts great!

1/4 tsp. dried oregano or Italian seasoning

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Using mushroom brush or paper towels, clean mushrooms thoroughly, and cut off stems.

Using a spoon, carefully scoop out the insides of each mushroom, to create a little “bowl”.

Lightly rub the mushroom caps with a little olive oil, place on non-stick (or sprayed) baking sheet and pre-bake for 5 minutes.

Flip those mushrooms over, and start adding ingredients – sauce, garlic, basil…

… then cheese and herbs.

Bake for up to 15 minutes.  Well… 15 minutes-ish.  Because I used two different cheeses, I had to keep my eyes on the prize(s).  The mozzarella melted faster, so I took those out first and we had them as our appetizers – perfect!

When we tried the vegan cheese version, we realized that they actually had a liiiiiittle more flavor!

Both were fantastic, but the vegan cheese really allowed the other ingredients to truly shine!  Love experimenting like that!

I love SO many things about these pizzas, but the fact that they are SO easy to shop for, prepare and cook is way at the top of the list!  We had a green salad on the side and it was a fantastic dinner – perfecto at the end of a busy day!  What’s your favorite quick and easy dinner?

Well, I hope you have a weekend that is full of fun(ghi) and makes you want to sing, sing a song!  Until next time…

Cheers, dears!

