Here’s a Story…

by kerryabdow

(to the tune of The Brady Bunch theme song… of course!)

… about potato gnocchi,

It’s all gluten-free and made with loving hands.

It was born here, just north of Denver,

Cappello’s is the brand.

Da da da da daaaaa!

Okay, enough of that Bradylicious nonsense…!  BUT, Cappello’s IS the brand for artisan gluten-free pastas!  Their products are popping up at grocers and restaurants all over the Denver Metro area, including the newly-opened DiFranco’s (can’t wait to try out their new place at 10th and Lincoln!).  We found Cappello’s pastas the first time we went to the Denver Urban Homesteading Saturday market and it’s been love ever since!

Back to the subject at hand (and mouth) – gnocchi… I’ve been craving it for weeks!  So when I saw the Cappello’s tent at the Highland Farmer’s Market last weekend, I had to snatch some right up.

It was time.

What IS gnocchi, you ask?  (Nyo-kee… best announced with wildly gesturing hands…)  It’s a delicious potato dumpling.  Uh huh… dumpling.  Any dumpling situation must be great, right?  Right.  The last time I had gnocchi, it was from Harvest Food Truck and it was amaaaaazing!  They caramelized the dumplings a bit and loaded sautéed veggies on top… yummm!  That said, when I came home with that Cappello’s gnocchi in my paws, I had to find a recipe that would make my (mostly) vegetarian heart sing with joy.

I googled some recipes and found a very basic one that involved mushrooms, so I decided to take some ideas from that and do my own version that is suuuuper simple!  And here it is… da da da da daaaaa!

Cappello’s Potato Gnocchi with Mushrooms and Thyme

Ingredients:

1 package Cappello’s Gluten-Free Potato Gnocchi

1 1/2 cups of assorted mushrooms (I used trumpet, cremini, oyster, and maitake)

2 tsp. fresh thyme

1 large shallot clove

olive oil

salt and pepper

Instructions:

Rough chop mushrooms, mince thyme and shallot.

Heat olive oil in a medium-to-large skillet.  While olive oil is heating, put on a medium pot of water to boil for beloved gnocchi.

When skillet is pretty hot – like… HOT! – toss in the mushrooms.  Do NOT touch them until they have released some moisture and appear to be caramelizing.  This is a tough direction for me, because I like to keep the food a-movin’!  But I was patient, left them alone, and and it paid off!

Next, throw in the shallots and thyme, add salt and pepper to taste.  Sauté for another five minutes or so, letting the ingredients mingle and get to know each other and the shallots to melt a little.

By now, your gnocchi water should be boiling!  Fresh gnocchi cooks QUICKLY!  In two minutes or so!  Pop it in, but don’t go too far away.

From what I read, you know the gnocchi is done when they are floating at the top of the water.

I drained the gnocchi really well and then added it to the sauté pan.

I’m not sure that was the right move.

I’ll need to consult the experts, but… I think gnocchi might best be served cold.  NO… wait… that’s revenge…  I think gnocchi might best be served with the sauce on top, as opposed to mixing it in with the sauce.  I feel like mine absorbed too much of the oil, so it ended up a little dry.  STILL delicious!!!!  But coulda been a little saucier.  Or should I have cooked more sauce?  Again… must consult the experts.

Don’t get me wrong, we LOVED our belly-pleasing dinner!  Served with my favorite arugula/parmesan salad… perfect.

What’s next in our culinary adventures?  Who knows!  Stay tuned for adventures in gardening!

Hope you’re enjoying the rest of your Monday Funday!

Cheers, dears!

