Reading Between the Buns

by kerryabdow

Maaaaannnnnnnn, I LOVE a great burger!  I do!  But I don’t eat red meat, and finding a satisfying veggie version that actually has flavor (what a concept!) or that isn’t loaded with fat and junk is kind of a pain!  So I decided that the only burger I could really sink my teeth into would be one that I made with my own two hands.  But… where would I find the perfect recipe?

I searched high.  I searched low.  I searched between the buns.  And I googled.  Of course.  Nothing was really grabbing me until… dah dah dah daaaaaaaaaaaaah –

I found this recipe on Chow!  Looked amazing, but there was really only one way to find out if it would fill that veggie burger void… I had to make it!   And so I did…

Mushroom Veggie Burgers

3 T. vegetable oil

6 med. Cremini mushrooms (appx. 4 oz.), cleaned, stemmed, and sliced 1/4 inch thick.  *I used baby bellas

kosher salt

fresh ground black pepper

1 med. shallot, finely chopped (appx. 2 T.)

1 med. garlic clove, minced

1 15-oz. can black-eyed peas (Boom Boom Pow!), drained and rinsed

1 med. scallion, thinly sliced (use white and light green parts only)

2 T. fresh cilantro leaves and stems, finely chopped

1/2 t. tamari, plus more as needed

1/4 t. Tabasco, plus more as needed

4 toasted vegan ciabatta (or your favorite burger rolls) for serving

Instructions:

Heat 1 T. of the oil in a large frying pan over medium heat until shimmering.  Add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally until browned – about 2 to 3 minutes.

Add the shallot and garlic and cook until fragrant and softened – about 2 minutes.  Transfer the mushroom mixture to a small bowl, wipe the pan clean with paper towels and set aside.

Place the peas in a large bowl and mash – don’t go crazy, leave about a quarter intact so the burgers will have pops of color.  Add the mushroom mixture, scallion, cilantro, tamari and Tabasco, and mix until well combined.  Taste and season with more salt, pepper, tamari and Tabasco as needed. Use your hands to form the mixture into four three-inch wide patties (about 1/3 c. each).

Heat the remaining 2 T. of oil in the reserved frying pan, on medium heat until shimmering.  Add the patties and fry until the outsides are browned – about 5 to 6 minutes per side.

Serve on ciabatta or burger rolls with your favorite toppings.  I tried these whole grain super thin buns and loved them!  I hate when the bun is too big, I really want the burger and toppings to be the stars!

I melted on a slice of rice cheese (the American style melts the best) and used romaine, red onion, tomato, and my favorite jalapeño pickles!  YUMMMMMMMM!!!!

Don’t you just want to take a big bite?!

The burger tasted great, but it fell apart a little too easily, so I will experiment with different binders – maybe egg, or Panko bread crumbs, or even cooked quinoa!  I’ll report back.  Do you have a favorite veggie burger recipe?  Bring it on!  The grilling season has started, we need options!  🙂

Until next time… Happy Tuesday!  And cheers, dears!

