Easy Like Friday Morning

by kerryabdow

It’s Friday again?!  Whoooohooooooooooooooooo!  If you’re like me, the last thing you want to do after a long work week is make a big ol’ complicated dinner.  If I had to do hardcore cooking every night after work, I’d send in my hologram, ala Tupac on stage with Snoop Dog.  Seriously.  AND, with just a little bit of planning and a few staples, I can have the ingredients for a couple of easy peasy meals at my fingertips.  This I like!  What ingredients, you ask?  Well…

Fresh vegetables – bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, zucchini, tomatoes… whatever’s in season, organic and local and whatever you love!

Organic Girl Super Greens salad mix.  A must.  Every week.

Daiya Vegan Cheese Shreds (or, again… whatever you love!) – mozzarella and cheddar.

Canned beans – garbanzo and black.

Pizza sauce, marinara sauce.

Frozen veggies – corn, peas, green beans.

Spicy stuff – jalapeño peppers, crushed red pepper, Cholula.  

Corn tortillas (I love the ones made at Whole Foods) and whole wheat pitas.

So you’ve got your staples, you’ve got your fresh ingredients… you’ve got dinner!  Here are some ideas!

Veggie Tacos

You can’t go wrong with tacos at Casa Welsh!  Husband and I love them so much, and eat them at least once a week.  Yum!  Here’s what I do for this veggie version:

Chop up some veggies to sauté…

I don’t use oil, I just let the veggies cook in their own juices.  I add a little bit of salt and pepper, and a dash of cayenne for some heat.

And some black beans and corn with a little cayenne kick…

I warm up the corn tortillas in a sauté pan…  and… arrrrrrrrrrrrrriba!

If you like, toss on chopped jalapeños, avocado, lettuce and tomato, add some Cholula…  They’re your tacos and you can cry (from the spice) if you want to!   Mmmmm… looking at these pictures makes me wish I had some leftovers to warm up and top with scrambled eggs for breakfast!  Oh my.

We love fish tacos, too!  Last night I got a piece of wild caught cod (on sale!) and a bag of chopped coleslaw and BAM! we had a fab dinner in ten minutes!

Another fun and favorite dinner is Pita Pizzas!  Suuuuuuuuuuuper easy, as you can probably imagine.  I usually use just pasta sauce because it’s what I have in the cabinet, but if I remember pizza sauce, that’s great, too!  Get your favorite ingredients and then GO CRAZY!  I do have one tip, though – if you’re using spinach or basil, put the sauce on top of it so it doesn’t burn.  Nothing is more depressing than a pizza with burned spinach on top.  Well, that and any Nicholas Sparks movie.  But I digress…

I’ve written about these pizzas before, because they can be a fun and interactive appetizer or dinner for a cocktail or kids’ party!  Who doesn’t love pizza???

Well, off I go to walk the doggies and then on to some FUN adventures!  I’ll be reporting back over the weekend.  🙂  Have a fantastico Friday, people!

Cheers, Dears!

