It’s Raining (Mad) Men!

by kerryabdow

I love Sunday nights.

I love to make a yummy dinner, have a glass of wine, and hunker down to watch “The Killing”.  Have you seen that show?  Totally obsessed.  It.  Is.  Amazing.  And then, of course, there’s “Mad Men”.  Don’t even get me started on Jon Hamm… Oh my.

Anywaaaay… it’s chilly and rainy in good ol’ Denver tonight and when thinking about what to cook, I decided to make a vegetarian version of Shepherd’s Pie.  Fun, right?!  And what’s more warming and comforting than mashed potatoes?  Winner winner chicken dinner.  I got the recipe from The Engine 2 Diet book, but tweaked it a tad.  You’re gonna love it.

Shepherd’s Pie

4 Russet potatoes

1/2 c. unsweetened soy milk *or whatever you prefer

2 T. Italian seasoning

cracked pepper to taste

16 oz. frozen green beans

1 medium yellow onion, diced

8 oz. sliced baby ‘bella mushrooms

2 cloves garlic, minced, plus one whole bulb

16 oz. Quorn meatless grounds

1 T. Bragg’s liquid aminos

6 oz. can tomato paste

8 oz. can diced tomatoes

1 T. Worcestershire sauce

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Wash whole potatoes, put directly on oven rack and bake until soft, about 40 minutes.  Wrap whole bulb of garlic in foil and bake with potatoes.  Remove the skin from the baked garlic, add to bowl with potatoes.  Mash with milk, 1 T. of Italian seasoning, and cracked pepper; set aside.  Steam frozen green beans for approximately seven minutes, or until bright green and still firm.  Drain water from beans.  Sauté onions in medium skillet for five minutes, until translucent.

Add mushrooms, two cloves of garlic, and 1 T. Italian seasoning, sauté until mushrooms release their juices.

Add “meat” crumbles, cracked pepper, Bragg’s, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, and Worcestershire; mix together.  Place the vegetable/”meat” mixture in the bottom of a casserole dish.

Layer the green beans next.

Spread the mashed potatoes over the top.

Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove foil, and bake until the potatoes brown lightly.   And then… taaaaaaaaadaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!

Oh emm gee, it is SOOOOOO delicious!  I served it with a salad – my fave Organic Girl Super Greens, my perfect farmers’ market tomato, scallions and avocado dressed with balsamic, dijon, olive oil and s&p.

Throw in a glass of red wine and BAM! – you have the PERFECT comfort meal!  Oh yes… haaaaaaappy belly time!  Aaaaahhhhhh… what a great way to end a great weekend.  🙂

Well, I’m going to take my happy belly to bed…  I wonder if I’ll dream about mashed potatoes or Jon Hamm…??!!  Hmmm… I’ll soon find out!

Cheers, Dears!

