Let’s Get Juiced!

by kerryabdow

There was a time when that would mean getting an early start on a late night of drinking vodka martinis (on the rocks, two green olives, please)…

… but this time I mean getting an early start on keeping late life maladies away by drinking my fruits and veggies!

Since the last time we met here in cyberspace, I have purchased a Juiceman, baby!  And I am SO excited!  Tonight I had to experiment, so I threw together a variety of fruits and veggies – I got my inspiration from the Mean Green recipe from “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” – and ended up with possibly my favorite green juice ever.  EVER!  Check it out!

I didn’t worry about precise measurements…

… of carrots, kale, parsley, celery, cucumbers, green apple, lemon and ginger… but you get the picture, right?  Haha!  You “get the picture”… because there’s an actual picture!  Ha!  Haha!  Ah.  Um.  Ahem.  Anyway…

Look at that liquid gold pouring out of that machine!

And after about four or five minutes, I had THIS –

I’m tellin’ ya… it was divine.  *sigh*  The addition of ginger gave it a little bite, and the parsley and lemon added just the perfect amount of bitterness to balance out the sweet of the carrots and apples.  Seriously delish.  A masterpiece, if I do say so myself.  🙂

The only tiny bummer is that there is a lot of pulp left over – I actually run it through one time to squeeze out a little more juice! – but I am going to experiment with using it for crackers and will report back.

Also, it’s kind of a pain to clean, but it was great tonight because I made it after I got home from the gym and made enough for breakfast!  Perf!  No rushing, no pressure… just sit (and sip) back and enjoy.  Aaaaahhhhh.

When I was researching these ingredients to see if they were good for our brains (continuing on from last week), I found out that it was ALL great!  Antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, blood purifying, alkalizing…  loaded with alkaloids, carotenoids, flavonoids (so many ‘oids!)… the list goes on and on.  Pretty awesome, right?!

Well, I am about to take my juicy self to dreamland, but I wanted to throw one more thing at you:  Did you see the “60 Minutes” segment on the evils of sugar?  Interesting!  AND understandable!  If you have 15 minutes (of fame) to spare, you should watch it.  It’s a little bittersweet… and it probably won’t promote sweet dreams… but add that to the suite of nutritional knowledge resting on your shoulders.  Uh huh.  Yup.  It’s time to stop.

Clearly I’ve been juiced!

So until next time…

Cheers, Dears!

