What a Dip!

by kerryabdow

I don’t know about you, but when dinner consists of a few appetizers instead of an entree, it feels like a party!   Even if I’m just sitting around in my yoga pants watching my DVR’d “American Idol” with the husband, it somehow feels more fun and festive.  Plus, with so many different ingredients in the mix, I get an even wider variety of nutrients!  Bonus!

Since it’s Saturday, I thought I would share a couple of appetizers that I am planning on trying out this weekend – Zucchini Hummus and Cheesy Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip.  Yummmm, right?!

The hummus recipe is from yet another cute blog I found – www.choosingraw.com.  I’m not raw, but, as you know, I DO eat a lot of raw vegetables!  I haven’t experimented a lot with raw recipes, so I’m excited to try this!  I’ve never had zucchini hummus, just the traditional with garbanzo beans.  According to the raw foodists, the beans are difficult for us to digest.  Who knew?!  Of course everyone is different, and I’m probably not going to stop eating garbanzos, because I love ’em and my body loves them, too!  But this sounds delicious and I can’t wait to grab a baby carrot and dig right in!

Raw Zucchini Hummus (yields over 3 cups; you can easily cut this recipe in half)

2 zucchini, chopped (with the skin on)
½ cup lemon juice
1 tsp salt
1 ½ tsp cumin
1 cup raw tahini (the Artisana brand is nice; substitute regular tahini if you need to)
4 tbsp olive oil
½ cup raw sesame seeds (soaked for two hours and then drained)

Vitamix instructions:

Put all ingredients in your Vitamix and blend to a rich perfection!

Food processor instructions:

Same as above. You may have a hard time blending the sesame seeds, so I recommend soaking them for a few hours first, halving the recipe, and stopping frequently to scape the bowl. You can also omit the seeds entirely, but in that case I also recommend omitting the olive oil to keep a thick consistency.

This next recipe is from Alicia Silverstone’s blog.  You know how much I love her!  It certainly doesn’t seem low in fat or calories, but it DOES look delicious!  I’m not sure if I’ll buy regular chips or if I’ll bake my own…  Baking the sprouted grain tortillas makes a delicious and hearty chip, have you ever tried that?  Super easy and delish.

Cheezy, Oozy Guacamole Bean Dip

  • 1 16-ounce can of refried beans
  • 3 large avocados
  • 3 tbsp. of fresh lime juice
  • 2 8-ounce containers non-dairy sour cream
  • 1 packet taco seasoning (I use Bearitos, but if you are avoiding all white sugar, make your own mix with chili powder, ground cumin, onion powder, hot paprika or cayenne, and salt)
  • 1/2 cup(s) of diced mild green chiles, drained
  • 1/2 cup(s) of sliced black olives, or more if you like
  • 5 tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 cup(s) of shredded vegan Cheddar cheese
Steps
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spread a layer of refried beans in the bottom of an 8 inch by 8 inch quart glass baking dish.
  3. Pit and peel the avocados, and place in a bowl.
  4. Mash the avocados together with the lime juice, and spread on top of the refried beans.
  5. Stir together the sour cream and taco seasoning, and spread over the avocado.
  6. Sprinkle the chiles over the sour cream, and top with a layer of black olives.
  7. Add the tomatoes, and sprinkle with the cheese.
  8. Heat the dip for 15-30 minutes or until heated through and the cheese is a bit melted.
  9. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Have you ever tried raw zucchini hummus?  What’s your favorite dip?  What’s your favorite dipper?  I will report back next week with the results of my efforts!

Hope you all have a wonderful and fantabulous weekend!  Cheers, dears!

