It’s “Food On The Fly Day” Friday! Let’s Wrap It UP!

by kerryabdow

Isn’t it funny how fast Friday arrives??  Every Monday we think it will never happen and then **POOF!!** it’s here like magic.   And I like magic!

Speaking of that, I have a pull-it-out-of-your-hat weekend supper that you are gonna love!  Delicious, nutritious, and easy to prepare, this recipe is from my pal, Taryn Bellavance.  Her vegan cooking classes make my heart go pitter patter – but in a good way, not a heart attack kind of way…!  I just started her meal planning series and it’s fabulous!    Okay, on with the magic… errr… recipe!

Sweet Potato-Black Bean Burritos

1 medium sweet potato (steamed for 10 minutes- or until soft- and then cut into small cubes)

1 cup frozen sweet corn kernels, thawed

1 cup black beans

1 cup cooked brown rice

6 whole grain or sprouted grain tortillas

3-4 cups green chili  – I love that 505!

Cheese of choice – I love Daiya!

Chopped lettuce or broccoli slaw, tomatoes and fresh cilantro ( I buy the broccoli slaw prepackaged – soooo easy!)

Pre-heat oven to 375.  Toss sweet potato, corn, bean and rice in a bowl. Spoon mixture in middle of tortillas, roll up and place seam-side-down on cookie sheet .  Bake at 375 for 5-8 minutes until shell becomes crisp.  Remove burritos from oven and change the oven temp to broil.  Top each burrito with more green chile and cheese, and place under broiler until cheese bubbles.  When plating individually, add greens, tomatoes, and cilantro.  Once again… SUPER YUM!   And easy!  And fast!

 

Wellllll… off I go into the wild green yonder!  Wishing you a merry and magical weekend!

Cheers, dears!

