It’s Fast Food Friday!

by kerryabdow

AND my Super Bowl Snack Smackdown!  **ding ding**

Oops, wrong bell!  Anyway…

Your Sunday gridiron gobbling doesn’t need to be all chicken wings and cheese dip!  Sneak in a few healthier alternatives to your Super Bowl snack spread and you’ll help keep that excess out of your own “end zone”.  Score!

I’ve been studying up on some fun vegan snacking alternatives and was inspired by a few great ideas, including this one for Nacho Bites that I found on a super cute blog called “Peas and Thank You”.  I just love the idea of creating those little tortilla cups, especially for a party!  I decided to test out a couple today, and made it simple with brown rice, black beans, salsa, avocado, and a little bit of my Daiya cheese.  YUM!!  Now THAT is what i call a Super Bowl!

I’ll “fancy it up” a little for game day, maybe adding some tempeh chorizo or roasted veggies… who knows… SO many delicious options!

For another fun and healthy offering, I’m going to set up a Pita Pizza Bar!  Don’t you love it?!  I got the idea from my friend, Taryn Bellavance, who teaches amazing vegan cooking classes (check out her website!)  Everyone can make their own whole wheat pita pizzas choosing from an assortment of toppings like marinara sauce, fresh spinach, onions, mushrooms, Kalamata olives, and Daiya mozzarella shreds.  Another SUPER(bowl) YUM!

Well, it’s off to dreamland for me, my friends.  It was a snow day in Denver today!  Check out my dogs, Sammy and Pinky, just lovin’ life!

And my wonderful husband, Scott, shoveling like a mad man!

The whole family is exhausted!  Good thing we have a day to rest before the big game… and, of course, the big Snackdown!  Go Team!!

What will YOU be eating on Super Bowl Sunday?  Share your game plan!

Cheers, dears!

